Chinara Kasmambetova will be one of the NGOs discussing commitment at our CommitToAct global roundtable for accountability

In 2019, road safety NGOs worked with their governments to agree to specific, time bound commitments for safer roads in their countries. This panel discussion will build on the strong leadership demonstrated through those commitments, and will be an opportunity to discuss the progress that has been made toward them. As with any target, it is so important to follow up, so that what is working can be celebrated and inspire others, and what is not working can be addressed.

A panel of decision makers from national/regional authorities that have made commitments on the Commitment Tracker will talk about progress on the commitments and discuss government accountability for road safety. Panelists include Dr. Ángela María Orozco Gómez, Minister of Transport Colombia; Dr. Khuất Việt Hùng, Vietnam National Traffic Safety Committee; Mr. Matthew Baldwin, European Commission.

They will be joined by NGO representatives, Ms. Chinara Kasmambetova, Road Safety NGO, Kyrgyzstan; and Mr. Horst Heimstadt, Private Sector Forum for Road Safety, Namibia, who will discuss commitments made in their country and take questions.

The session will be opened by Mr. Jean Todt, UN Secretary General’s Special Envoy for Road Safety, and closed by Dr. Etienne Krug, Director, Social Determinants of Health, WHO.


Registration: Global Roundtable Toward Accountability for Safer Roads:



15:00–15:05 Welcome & setting the stage
Ms. Lotte Brondum
Executive Director
Global Alliance of NGOs for Road Safety
15:05–15:10 From global commitments to local action: key partnerships and collaborations between international organizations, governments and civil society
Mr. Jean Todt
UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy
for Road Safety
15:10–15:25 Government perspectives
Progress made and challenges experienced in achievement of the road safety commitments given at country/region’s roundtables in 2019. Each speaker will have five minutes to present their remarks.
Dr. Ángela María Orozco Gómez
Minister of Transport Colombia
Dr. Khuất Việt Hùng
Executive Vice Chairman
Vietnam National Traffic Safety Committee
Mr. Matthew Baldwin
Deputy Director General & European Coordinator
Road Safety/Sustainable Mobility
European Commission
15:25–15:40 NGO perspectives
How did NGOs work on the commitments and what is their advice to scale up accountability for road safety, including Q&A. Moderated by Ms. Lotte Brondum.
Ms. Chinara Kasmambetova
Road Safety NGO, Kyrgyzstan
Mr. Horst Heimstadt
Private Sector Forum for Road Safety, Namibia
15:45–15:57 Reflection on presentations
Governments’ role and responsibility for road safety, the need for accountability in moving forward with the Stockholm Declaration, and the Second Decade of Action for Road Safety 2021-2030.
Dr. Etienne Krug
Director of Social Determinants for Health
World Health Organization
15:57–16:00 Closing remarks 
Ms. Lotte Brondum